Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Share | |
Islanders win CFU Championship

Puerto Rico Islanders News Release -

Sunday, May 9, 2010

TUNAPUNA, PR -- The Puerto Rico Islanders made history Sunday as they won the 2010 CFU Club Championship in Trinidad & Tobago.

For the first time in history, a professional football club from Puerto Rico has won a tournament organized by CONCACAF or the Caribbean Football Union (CFU).

The Puerto Rico Islanders beatSan Juan Jabloteh, 1-0, in the first game with a goal from Nicholas Addlery in the 19th minute. With the win, the Islanders finished the CFU Club Championship's Final Round with two wins and a tie for seven points.

In the second game, fellow Puerto Rican side Bayamon FC won, 3-1, against Joe Public to obtain its first victory in the Final Round of the Caribbean championship and in the process left Joe Public in second place with four points and a record of 1-1-1.

San Juan Jabloteh and Bayamon FC both finished with three points with one win and two losses each. The first tiebreaker is the head-to-head record and Bayamon FC lost, 4-1, to San Juan Jabloteh, thus giving the Trinidad club the third spot in the Caribbean tournament.

The three best teams in the 2010 CFU Club Championship earn a place in the 2010-2011 CONCACAF Champions League.

With the championship, the Puerto Rico Islanders became the first professional club that does not belong to the professional football leagues of Trinidad & Tobago or Jamaica to win the tournament. Since 1997, professional teams from Trinidad & Tobago have won the tournament eight times and while Jamaican teams have won three times.

The members of the Puerto Rico Women’s National Football Team, which are in Trinidad & Tobago to play the in the Caribbean’s final qualifying phase to play in the 2010 Women’s Gold Cup next week, were present for both games today, rooting for both Puerto Rican clubs and celebrated with the Puerto Rico Islanders their history-making championship.

Copyright 2010 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2010 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.